1981-82 Burnaby Winter Club

Category: Teams

Induction Year: 2005

Also, among the list of 2005 BC Hockey Hall of Fame Inductees, the only midget team from British Columbia to win a national title. The 1981-82 Burnaby Winter Club Travelers, coached by Al Patterson won the prestigious Air Canada Cup.

Their season record was 79 wins, 3 losses and 3 ties. Burnaby defeated Patrick Roy and his Ste Foy, Quebec teammates in the championship game played in Victoria. The captain of the Burnaby championship team was Cliff Ronning. Other players and staff were assistant coaches John Grisdale, Frank Brown and Alex McDonald, and goalies Drago Adam and Dave Roach.

1981-82 Burnaby Winter Club Team Members:

  • Alex McDonald
  • Drago Adam
  • Dave Roach
  • Chris Humber
  • Mike Brown
  • Steve Adrain
  • Dave Fabbro
  • Steve Brnjac
  • Dale Brisco
  • Tom Kurucz
  • Pat Austin
  • Grant Popowich
  • Dave Street
  • Daryl Pretzer
  • Steve Cairns
  • Rob Patterson
  • John Hemmerling
  • Shawn Nagurny
  • Al Wozney

Sign up for hall of fame updates

Get BC Hockey Hall of Fame news to your inbox.

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: BC Hockey Hall of Fame, 414 Ellis Street, Penticton, BC, V2A 4M2, CA, http://www.bchhf.com. You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact.