1979-80 Burnaby Lakers

Category: Team

Induction Year: 2018

The 1980 Burnaby Lakers senior men’s hockey team,  the defending North Shore league and playoff champs did what no other Lower Mainland team and only two other B.C. teams had done before & win the Canadian Intermediate A hockey championship Hardy cup.

The Burnaby team defeated teams from Vernon, Prince Rupert and Port Alberni in separate series to win the provincial Coy Cup championship. They then moved on to beat two Alberta clubs in the best-of-five series to take the Western Canadian title as well. The Lakers defeated eastern winners Fredericton Capitals in thee straight games at the Pacific Coliseum to claim the coveted Hardy Cup in 1980.


Sign up for hall of fame updates

Get BC Hockey Hall of Fame news to your inbox.

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: BC Hockey Hall of Fame, 414 Ellis Street, Penticton, BC, V2A 4M2, CA, http://www.bchhf.com. You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact.